Lost in Translation 

We need to talk about Chinese Fashion. Not even so much the fashion in a cultural sense, because I suspect it’s a rather watered down version of what you can find in Japan, but more so the phrases you see on people’s clothing throughout China. The inaccurate translations from Mandarin to English never ceased to put us into fits of laughter. As a group, we collectively took and shared photos of the hilarious text we found printed on people’s clothing (Yes, I do realize the hypocrisy of this after I just complained of my picture being taken throughout China). Here we go!

I saved my favourite for last. I consider this the best one for a few reasons. (1) The spelling and grammar is way off! (2) The subject made absolutely no sense to me whatsoever. (3) Today, upon the suggestion of a friend, I Googled the text from his jacket and it actually came up with something!! And what, pray tell, did I find when I looked this up online? More than I could have ever wished for! Click here (don’t worry, no parental advisory).

IMG_3912

Should I even attempt to type that out? I think autocorrect would ruin it/make it right, and where’s the fun in that?

 

Leave a Reply

